A Look Back at 2013

Wow! What an amazing year. I’m a bit late to the party, but it’s better late than never!

I give credit on how to write this from Pavement Runner, Miss Zippy, Runs with Pugs, and Twenty Six and Then Some. Thanks!

At the end of 2012, I said that I would run more and run faster. I certainly smashed all those goals and then some.

In 2013, I ran a total of:
-1 marathon
-17 half marathons
-2 10Ks
-3 5Ks

Of the half marathons, six PRs were set in:
Phoenix (1:51:48)
Pasadena (1:49:53)
Dallas (1:48:15)
San Diego (1:46:21)
San Jose (1:44:03)
LA (1:41:47)
My goal of breaking 1:50 was set in Pasadena, and I broke 1:45 in San Jose.

Of the 3 5Ks, two PRs were set in:
Disneyland (23:05)
LA (22:21)

I ran 5 inaugural events for 2013, which were:
New Years Race
RnR SF
Disneyland 10K
Berkeley Half
Turkey Trot LA

I completed several challenges too:
-All 10 medals from the Rock n’ Roll Heavy Medal Series
-The Desert Double Down in Phoenix
52 club for the SF Marathon
Dumbo Double Dare
SF/Berkeley Challenge

My goal in 2013 was to run 2,013 kilometers, or about 1,205 miles. The tally at the end of the year shows 1257.30 miles, which surpasses the goal by about 50 miles or 85 kilometers.

I ran an average of 102.87 miles per month, or 24.18 miles per week.

Screen Shot 2014-01-02 at 8.08.49

I ventured out of California and ran in five states spanning three time zones to run half marathons. In that time, I met with long unseen relatives, made new friends, and tried out Airbnb for the first time.

Screen Shot 2014-01-02 at 8.21.56

Best Course: The Long Beach Half Marathon. From start to finish, the course runs alongside the beach, and I’m a sucker for long runs by the sand. With the palm trees, cool beachside temperatures in October, and almost no elevation gain, this is probably one of the most beautiful courses I’ve ran.

Best Run: My best run would have to be my half marathon PR, the Los Angeles Rock n’ Roll race. I was only about 100 seconds away from breaking the 1:40 half marathon time, and I even slowed down considerably during the final 3 miles. On this familiar course with much more favorable weather conditions than in 2012, I ran the whole course without a hitch.

Best Advice I’ve Received: Just keep running. The times when I set PRs were when I was running at a more frequent pace and when races were scheduled closer to each other.

Lesson Learned from Running in 2013: Once you accomplish something you’ve kept your eyes on, don’t settle for too long. Look at what’s next.

Overall, 2013 was a phenomenal year in a running point of view, and I’m excited to see what 2014 has in store.

What are my goals for 2014 though? That’s a discussion for another post.

Medals of 2013. 
One thought on “A Look Back at 2013

Leave a Reply

