2012.

Trying to figure out where to begin in writing what I did in 2012 is pretty huge. After completing one half marathon at the close of 2011, I realized that running races and being a runner was quickly becoming a part of my identity.

However, my only “resolution” for 2012 that I wrote in the beginning of the year was simply: run more, possibly 1,200 miles. While 1,200 miles was certainly a fail, I did run more.

Let’s take a trip down memory lane!

In January I was contemplating running a marathon, but was worried I wouldn’t be capable of doing it since I hadn’t done any long distance running in a while. I increased my mileage and made 13.1 Marathon Los Angeles in Venice Beach a benchmark to see if I could do it.

And I did! I set a half marathon PR here at 1:53:16, and I still have trouble trying to beat this time. The minute I finished and went home I registered for the LA Marathon.

February was a training month for the marathon. It was the first time I ran 18 miles from UC Berkeley to the Richmond BART and back, and 20 miles to Contra Costa Community College.This was all a preparation for Marchwhere I would run from Dodger Stadium to the Santa Monica Pier in the LA Marathon. 

My goal in the LA Marathon was simply to finish in less than 5 hours. After all, it was my first marathon and I had no idea how I would do in the final 6.2 miles. Luckily, I finished within the time allotted. Great!

With all that marathon training, I tried out what my legs could do in a short race, so in April I pushed to Run 4 Cal with a 5K with my buddies.

468280_3246864803779_860128775_oIn May a four year journey came to a close since I graduated from college!

I also ran the Pasadena Half Marathon for fun after moving out, which currently holds as the warmest race I ran. It was the hilliest too, but that would be overtaken by San Francisco later.

I took the end of May, June, and July as an opportunity to run and hike around the world. I ran in Taiwan to the Taipei 101 and National Taiwan University, as well as around Panama.

However, this training proved to be no match for the San Francisco Half Marathon, which I ran for the additional two medals (LA-SF Challenge, Half-It-All) on top of the normal finisher medal. I completed it at my worst competitive time, but hey, I was on vacation! Running across the Golden Gate Bridge and across SF’s unforgiving hills was quite a challenge.

I took August as a time to relax and prepare for work. This was also the time where I took my roadtrip across the United States. Eric, my roadtrip friend, and I were trying to run a half marathon in North Dakota, but realized we arrived the day after the race. Oops.

I settled back in the Bay Area in September and, without any training, I impulsively registered for the NorCal Half Marathon and did pretty well considering I slacked off. It was at this point I started this very own blog too, for the very point of logging and writing about my running travels.

norcal

Knowing that I had to get back into running, I kicked my training into high gear throughout October. Erica also registered for her very own first half marathon too, and I helped her push to the finish at the Los Angeles Rock n’ Roll Half Marathon. 

rnrlaIn November I had a “what-the-hell” moment and registered for the US Half Marathon, exactly a week after the LA Rock n’ Roll. My legs didn’t fall off after running two half marathons in 7 days, but they certainly hated me.

ushalf

I PRed a 5K in La Cañada Flintridge on Thanksgiving, and my mom joined me too!

lacanadaThen, I ended my 2012 races in December with a run down Las Vegas Blvd. in the Las Vegas Rock n’ Roll Half Marathoncompleting my first race outside of California.

lv

I did all that in one year?! Holy crap. I’ve definitely grown a lot in 2012, pushing myself to limits I haven’t seen before.

But, as always, in 2013, it’s time to turn it up a notch and make it the year of running.

Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

