The Cake isn’t a lie.

Wow it’s been a while since my last post. I promise I won’t neglect my blog like this again! It’s pretty difficult when there’s so much going on.

21 miles per burrito.

Things have finally fallen into routine since I moved up to the Bay. I bought a folding bike for portability and to work out my legs on non-running days, and cause I live so close to work (3.3 miles) driving seems like such a waste. With gas prices approaching $5 a gallon now, it looks like the bike is paying off sooner than expected. 🙂

Here’s what my daily athletic routine looks like:
Sunday: 10 mile run
Monday: Bike to/from work
Tuesday: Bike to/from work, Weightlifting
Wednesday: 10 mile morning run, bike to/from work
Thursday: Bike to/from work, Weightlifting
Friday: 6 mile morning run, bike to/from work
Saturday: Rest

With all this biking and running combined, a triathlon in a year or so is a possibility! I’ll need to figure out how to start swimming in the winter months and get a legitimate racing bike.

I was contemplating running the San Jose Rock n’ Roll Half Marathon last Sunday, but with all the activities going on last weekend, getting up bright and early to run a half marathon didn’t seem likely and feasible. I was told RnR San Jose had pretty much the same route as the NorCal half, so I would’ve pretty much ran the same race, only with slightly more preparation.

With RnR LA coming up, I also don’t want to tire myself out too much during training either. Oh well, there’s always next year.

The runs I planned for November (Big Sur / Santa Barbara) also are a logistical nightmare (Saturday races? Lack of transportation?), so I’ll be finding somewhere else to run during Turkey week.

Yesterday I went to a company-sponsored 49ers game, which meant lots of food! I devoured a chocolate cake and several mini cupcakes while watching the Niners obliterate the Buffalo Bills.

A runner’s best friend.

During my evening 10 mile run several hours later I noticed I was running a little over a minute above my normal pace. The best part? I felt great, my legs were singing, and I felt like I could run forever.

Overall, these last couple weeks have been great, and I’m looking forward to RnR LA!

Leave a Reply

